CAR TRIP FROM HELL!!!
My mom was back sitting between the kids. For the first hour or so, she was non-stop. Restarting the movies that E somehow turned off. Keeping C occupied. Trying to keep him from crying. E was hungry or thirsty. I felt bad enough for my mom as it is. C was pretty good...on and off sleeping but for the most part quiet. He would sometimes wake up when we got stuck in traffic because the car stopped. Right as we got close to the 273 exit all hell broke lose. C started screaming, which in turn made E upset. It was so bad my mom even tried to take him out and calm him (we were at a dead stop, not driving). Nothing worked and now both were screaming bloody murder. Frantically, my mom yells PULL OVER. Like the crazy woman I am at this point, I cut across two lanes of traffic and pulled over. I get out of the car and take C and try and calm him. E is still screaming. Then a cop pulls up behind us and as he walks past the car, my mom goes all stressed, "we are fine...just have two screaming kids." The cop smirked and moved on.
Finally, I made the executive decision to just go...screaming kids or not. my mom was driving and now I was in the back. I put the window down to get some air and this droning noise started cause only one window was down. I tell mom mom fran to put her window down. Darn new cars threw her for a loop. You know how in new cars you push the button and the window goes all the way down? Well she could NOT figure out how to just crack the window. Up down up down up down. At this point, all we could do is laugh. Both kids were so exhausted from crying they were falling asleep (praise the lord). I had to hold E's hand to keep her calm :(
I was suppose to take my mom home but she did not think the kids would stay asleep, so we went straight to my house. My poor dad had to bring the dog up and get my mom and mom mom. He proceeded to tell me he remembered multiple times having to stop or pullover because of the kids or just drive with them screaming. Even though the drive was horrible, every ounce of crazy was worth the memories we made this weekend at the beach. Seeing my dad time after time get C asleep. Watching E on the boats at Funland. Us all dancing around having a great time. Who ever said kids were easy anyway?!!??




